Graduate Council Minutes — Thursday, May 7, 3:00 p.m. via Zoom

Members Present: Dominic Lanphier, Richard Dressler, Adam West, Martha Day, Ray Blankenship, Diane Lickenbrock, Sarah Ochs, Cheryl Hopson, Carl Dick, Cheryl Davis, Ann Ferrell, Aaron Hughey, Marko Dumancic, Helen Liang, Ken Payne

Members Absent: Alex Lebedinsky, Scott Arnett, Katie Wheeler, Casey McKinney, Emily Pride, Jessica Johnson, Mary Lyons, Haley Wheeler

Guests: Colette Chelf, Rheanna Plemons, Scott Gordon, Laura Burchfield, Cathleen Webb, Jennifer Hammonds, Danita Kelley, Merrall Price, Dennis George, Evelyn Thrasher, Dana Sullivan, Richard Schugart, Marla Zubel, Andrea Paganelli, Jordan Ray, Blair Thompson

- 1. Call to Order *Ferrell
- 2. Consideration of April 9, 2020 minutes (Appendix A, including Dean's report) Dick/Day; approved
- 3. Committee Reports a. Graduate Council Executive Committee

*Ferrell, Plemons, and Hughey discussed the new curriculum process. The Graduate Faculty Policy revision passed senate; however, it has not been signed by the Provost. Ferrell thanked the current members, the new members, the new GC Chair, and Dean Cheryl Davis.

- b. Policy Committee: Carl Dick: No report
- c. Research Committee: Dominic Lanphier (Appendix B)

*Dominic reported that they had eight grant requests for the April 2020 deadline. The Research Committee allocated a little over \$14,000. They included a statement about changes due to COVID-19. Approved.

d. Curriculum Committee: Martha Day (Appendix C)

*Day/Dressler made a motion to approve the curriculum committee report. Approved.

4. Report from Dean of the Graduate School *Dr. Davis called for a moment of silence in respect for Dr. Ed Stevens.

*Davis welcomed the new members and thanked the current members. *Dr. Davis said the thesis deadline will be July 31st for thesis students graduating in May. The students do not need to enroll in maintaining matriculation if they are done with their coursework in May. *Davis thanked everyone who has been working on Degreeworks. *Chelf mentioned that the comprehensive exam forms needed to be submitted by the end of the term. *The John D. Minton winner is Ava Fergerson. *Dr. Davis will be retiring July 1st and Dr. Koodali is looking forward to joining campus on July 1st. *Dr. Davis shared a brief history of the Graduate School and her time at WKU.

5. Election of Graduate Council Vice-Chair

*Carl Dick nominated Martha Day and Blankenship/Dick move to cease nominations. Martha Day was elected Vice-Chair.

6. Public Comments

*Hughey spoke of how he had learned from Carl and Ann over the last couple years. He shared his appreciation for Dr. Davis, the Graduate School staff, current graduate council members, and new graduate council members.

7. Announcements & Adjourn

*Carl Dick reminded the Graduate Council that there are guidelines to have well-balanced committees. Ferrell asked committees to discuss chairs prior to the August meeting so that all committee chairs can be elected by the Council at the August meeting.

*West/Day; adjourn.